Have We Amused Ourselves to Death Yet?

Standard

My palm is broken. Now it only serves as an address book, since I can’t sync with my calendar anymore. And so I’ve been looking at the new Blackberries and Treo 680. But I’m not going to buy a replacement…yet. First of all, I need an excuse for why I’m not reachable, when I’m just standing over my phone and turning off the ringer. Also, checking emails constantly used to be fun, but I’m really getting tired of checking my emails because I never get any email just because anymore except when my contribution to the family reunion fund is needed. Checking out Flickr and shooting pictures on the go to post on Flickr sounds fun, but I don’t want to provoke any road rage by taking pictures of the SUV mom cutting in front of me on my commute. Blogging on the go…yes, it’s very tempting, especially when the traffic is just inching along…or when the teleconference is just going on and on and on…except that’s also when I have my breakfast, brush hair, get my morning news, cut my fingernails…one can only do so many things at once.

So, despite whatever Neil Postman said in his book Amusing Ourselves to Death, my answer is: No. Not biting the dust yet.

Leave a Reply

